Whether you are facing DUI or you have already been charged and lost your license, you might wonder what the risks are of getting behind the wheel without a license. After a DUI charge in Alabama, you could face serious consequences and penalties, including loss of license, fines, jail time, and a permanent criminal record. But, are there additional penalties for driving without a license? The answer is unequivocally—yes.
The best way to protect yourself is to either defeat your underlying DUI charges or to secure your right to drive, even in the event of a DUI conviction. Our Birmingham defense attorneys understand the complexity of DUI cases and the criminal justice system. We also know that every situation is unique and that defendants can work towards an optimal solution through plea bargaining or with strategic advocacy during the sentencing process.
Whether you are currently facing DUI charges or you have been charged and want to protect your license, here is some information about Alabama DUI and licensing laws:
Will I lose my license after a DUI arrest?
The Alabama Department of Public Safety can suspend your license regardless of a criminal conviction. If you refuse a test for blood alcohol or if you are found to be driving over the legal limit, you could lose your license. You are an entitled to an administrative hearing immediately after suspension.
What are penalties for a DUI in Alabama?
In Alabama, penalties for DUI can be severe. In addition to losing your license, you could also face jail time and fines. A DUI conviction on your record may also have an impact on future opportunities. While it is best to have your case reviewed by an experienced advocate to defeat charges, an attorney can also help you minimize penalties in the case of a conviction.
How do I keep my license?
Though your license can be suspended, revoked or canceled in Alabama based on a DUI conviction, the state can also suspend your license by an administrative action that takes effect within 45 days of your arrest. This will take place if you test over .08%. You must take action within 10 days of your arrest to prevent the automatic suspension.
What is legal process for reinstating my license?
Immediately after an arrest, you have the right to an administrative hearing. An attorney can advocate on your behalf to get your license reinstated. If you are criminally convicted for a DUI, you will face a court-ordered suspension. The duration depends on the number of previous convictions you have had. A first conviction will usually result in a 90-day suspension.
What are penalties for driving without a license?
If you lose your license and are pulled over and charged with driving on a suspended license, you could face fines between $100 and $500 and face 180 days in jail. Alabama imposes an additional $50 charge in addition to other fines and penalties. In some circumstances, your vehicle may be impounded.
Call Birmingham DUI Defense Lawyer Steven Eversole at (866) 831-5292.
More Blog Entries:
New DUI Defense: Too Drunk to be Prosecuted? Oct. 12, 2013, Birmingham Underage DUI Defense Lawyer Blog
Alabama Marijuana DUI Will Be Difficult for Cops to Prove, Sept. 2, 2013, Birmingham DUI Defense Attorney Blog